Silver Lining

Today we sorted out a few things around the home. One of these things included breaking up and dumping an original timber cupboard from the old shed. But I had to salvage some of the glorious white and blue-sliver wallpaper that lined the shelving on the inside. I mean, folk don’t do such things these day – what a treasure! I know our 1950’s house has had two previous families which lets me imagine a homely woman spending time lovingly lining her cupboard shelves with some pretty and protective papers-it certainly deserves to be revived with creative care.

I kept a fine shred of the wood and as delicate as it is, I cut and stuck to it some of the wallpaper – arranging the pattern into a heart…I think it almost looks quite modern now! To see a pic of the wallpaper and stripped wood see the Flickr archive.