Happy geek!

Today I started a short Saturday summer course at Central St. Martins in London where you get set 100 design projects over the 6 Saturdays. I wasn’t too sure what to expect, I graduated in 2003 and so it’s been a while since I’ve been back in that environment…I refuse to count myself in the ‘mature student’ category yet! lol! It was certainly the best alternative to enjoying the nice weather today that’s for sure.

Being the creative geek I am, I enjoyed all the projects and especially the ‘unfinished-we’re-not-to0-fussy-on-refining-the-detail’ of the course…it’s purely about getting your ideas out quickly, developing them through different media / technique / sketches etc  within the minutes you’re assigned – and quickly moving onto the next. I’ve pulled out a few of my favourite piece of work on my personal blog here, where I also go into more detail.

So anyway my heart art:

One task (around 6 minutes) was to create a character of yourself, which focuses on, and extremely illustrates, a personality trait…pretty darn difficult to be fair, even harder under time pressures. After much faffing, scribble, rubbing out –  those that know me well enough will recognise – that in the end I picked out my boring caring / loving / giving side and stuck some geek-like-glasses on me!