45 Heart wins every time…

Today my friend send me a great informative article by Slate.com about the history of the ‘heart’ shape. Amongst other things, I found it interesting that this article suggests the heart symbols first association was with sex, before love. Describing that the heart-symbol derives from a heart-shaped seed of an ancient natural plant, commonly traded as a contraceptive. Such an important trade in Cyrene, that coins were minted with the heart -shaped seedpod.

So I have used some polyfila and coins laying around the house to create my heart art today. I enjoyed the creative mess and will edit this post to add a photo of it when it’s dried in a few days too.

Also here’s my after-thought: I quite like the relation of how Valentines Day is now an over-priced commercial selling tool and my heart is made from money.

Leave a Reply

